Our English Classes

A blog for Maribel's students at EOI and CEP Granada

Advanced 1 13.12.10

Posted by maribel on 17/12/2010

The verb lay means “to put”; it takes a direct object. The verb lie means “to rest”; it does not take a direct object. Don’t confuse the past and past participle forms of these verbs:

LAY (present), laid (past), and laid (past participle)
LIE (present), lay (past), and lain (past participle)

The maids lay the table for dinner at 7 o’clock.
I think I’ll lie down for 20 minutes after lunch.

Be used to is used to show previous experience and familiarity with a certain situation.

I am used to living abroad. – I have previous experience living abroad, so it’s not difficult for me.
Jane isn’t used to living abroad. – She doesn’t have much experience living abroad, or if she does it is still difficult for her.
Paul is used to learning languages. – Paul has learnt languages before, so he’s good at it.
Carol has never studied a foreign language, so she‘s not used to it. – Carol doesn’t have previous experience learning a foreign language.

Get used to is used for the process of acquiring experience and ability. In the beginning we are less experienced, then we get used to something – we go through a process of gaining experience.

I wasn’t used to living abroad, but I got used to it. – I didn’t have expeirence living abroad, but I grew in experience until I was happy living abroad.
I didn’t like banans, but I got used to them. – In the beginning I didn’t like bananas, but after a while I learnt to like them.

In the structure be / get used to, to is a preposition, not part of the to-infinitive, so it is followed by an -ing word.

Used to is a completely different structure from be/get used to. Used to is for past habit, be used to means to get accustomed to something.

This is Lauren’s presentation on the education system in The USA:

A couple of years ago Nicole presented the Canadian education system:

Leave a Reply

 
